You have reached a collection of archived material.

The content available is no longer being updated and may no longer be applicable as a result of changes in law, regulation and/or administration. If you wish to see the latest content, please visit the current version of the site.

For persons with disabilities experiencing difficulties accessing content on, please use the DoD Section 508 Form. In this form, please indicate the nature of your accessibility issue/problem and your contact information so we can address your issue or question.

United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

DoD News

Bookmark and Share

 News Article

Chief Information Officer Honors Information Technology Pros

By Amaani Lyle
American Forces Press Service

WASHINGTON, Dec. 6, 2013 – The Defense Department’s Chief Information Officer recognized three individuals and three teams today for achievements in information technology, management, efficiencies and security at the 13th annual DOD CIO Awards ceremony.

Teri Takai said the finalists, who distinguished themselves from more than 100 nominations across the department, made exceptional strides in capital planning and investment control, enterprise architecture and services.

Of particular note is e-mail, she said. “E-mail has become the major communication mechanism … that is extremely important in our overall communications. “It lays the infrastructure … for identity management … and the teams have established a way for the DOD to do enterprise services.”

She explained that the honorees not only developed the processes and structures for the DOD to build new enterprise services, but have developed mission assurance through IT system accreditation and standardization.

Cyber and IT professionals will also continue to develop medical data sharing capabilities, Takai said. “[There’s a] huge effort underway to upgrade our current medical systems but also to be able to provide the kind of medical capability that our active duty and our veterans really deserve.”

Future war fighting capability will also continue to transform through advanced nuclear capabilities, Takai said.

Attending the ceremony was Army Gen. Keith Alexander, commander of the U.S. Cyber Command and National Security Agency director, who lauded the awardees’ unique sense of innovation.  “You see things that are different than industry sees them -- in every other area of our government, those that operate networks don’t have to defend the nation like you do,” Alexander said. “Our innovation is far different than anybody else’s in the world; you bring innovation to the table.”

Individual winners are:

First place: Charles (Dean) Corpman, command and control section chief, U.S. Strategic Command, J864

Second place: John P. Howell, product director, enterprise e-mail (PD EE), U.S. Army

Third place: Richard L. Ford, Defense Manpower Data Center, Identity Services Division

Team winners are:

First place: Army Enterprise E-mail Migrations Team, U.S. Army NETCOM G-3

Second place: Enterprise Mission Assurance, Support Service Team, Defense Information Systems Agency

Third: Enterprise Infrastructure Team, Joint Task Force-Capital Medical, Military Health System

(Follow Amaani Lyle on Twitter: @LyleAFPS)


Contact Author

Teri Takai
Gen. Keith Alexander

Related Sites:
Special Report: The Cyber Domain

Additional Links

Stay Connected