You have reached a collection of archived material.

The content available is no longer being updated and may no longer be applicable as a result of changes in law, regulation and/or administration. If you wish to see the latest content, please visit the current version of the site.

For persons with disabilities experiencing difficulties accessing content on, please use the DoD Section 508 Form. In this form, please indicate the nature of your accessibility issue/problem and your contact information so we can address your issue or question.

United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

The Medal of Honor is the
United States' highest military decoration. It has been bestowed on 3,488 men and one woman
(a Civil War surgeon) since President Abraham Lincoln signed it into law on Dec. 21, 1861. It is reserved for those who are distinguished "conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States."

Visit Service Sites

Medal of Honor Recipients - click to view service websites Army Staff Sargeant Ryan Pitts Army Sgt. 1st Class Paul R. Smith Navy Lieutenant Michael P. Murphy Marine Corporal Jason L. Dunham Army Specialist Ross A. McGinnis Army Sgt. 1st Class Paul R. Smith Army Sgt. 1st Class Jared C. Monti Army Staff Sgt. Robert J. Miller Army Sgt. Kyle J. White Marine Sgt. Dakota L. Meyer Army Staff Sgt. Salvatore A. Giunta Army Sgt. 1st Class Leroy A. Petry William Kyle Carpenter Army Capt. William D. Swenson Army Staff Sgt. Clifton L. Romesha Army Staff Sgt. Ty Michael Carter

Additional Links

Stay Connected