You have reached a collection of archived material.

The content available is no longer being updated and may no longer be applicable as a result of changes in law, regulation and/or administration. If you wish to see the latest content, please visit the current version of the site.

For persons with disabilities experiencing difficulties accessing content on, please use the DoD Section 508 Form. In this form, please indicate the nature of your accessibility issue/problem and your contact information so we can address your issue or question.

United States Department of Defense United States Department of Defense

U.S. Unified Combatant Commands
December 2013
The Defense Department has nine unified combatant commands, each with responsibilities for a geographic region or functional area in support of U.S. strategic objectives. Their mission is to maintain command and control of U.S. military forces around the world in peacetime as well as in conflict. Click on a command for exclusive news coverage and more information.
Unified Combatant Command strategic map U.S. Northern Command NORTHCOM U.S. European Command EUCOM U.S. Southern Command SOUTHCOM U.S. Africa Command AFRICOM U.S. Central Command CENTCOM U.S. Pacific Command PACOM U.S. Transportation Command TRANSCOM U.S. Special Forces Command SOCOM U.S. Strategic Command STRATCOM

Additional Links

Stay Connected